Walk a mile in my shoes

OK, I’m back and this is not a whinge but, I admit it, I’m bored.  Having had my shoulder operation last Friday, followed by a couple of day’s horrendous discomfort, I now seem to be free of pain for good parts of the day (so long as I forget the break dancing).   But, with my right arm totally enclosed in a sling of vast proportions, baroque complexity and a rather sinister shade of black, I find that I am, well, disabled. I am not able to do all the things I usually do and having to depend on my dear wife more than I am used to (and perhaps more than she bargained for, bless her).

Image courtesy of Breg.com

Actual shot here, folks, of the Breg Slingshot3 for the inquisitive (this guy seems to actually be some sort of masochist).  Joking apart, whoever at Breg who designed this beauty knew what they were doing.

Now, of course, my ‘disability’ is only temporary and my wonderful surgeon tells me I should make a full recovery and the full use of my right arm and shoulder in time.  How do I know that Prof. Ernest Schilders is wonderful? Well, apart from his reputation, I have the video of the action that took place.  No, you don’t want to know the full details; suffice to say that what appeared to be solid engineering took place and that a variety of tools and screws were used that any DIYer would have …..given his right arm for.  Perhaps to show after Xmas lunch mmmm?

I also have to make special mention of Caroline, Fay and Quanzee; three more skilful and compassionate members of the nursing profession, you would struggle to find.  Thank you, ladies.

Perhaps I have always taken my own body for granted.  True it has never permitted Olympian feats but, by and large, it has done what I required of it and mind and body have always seemed in harmony. But now, with my right arm completely incapacitated, I have a taste of what a disability really is.  I have a small glimpse of how life must be for those who are, for whatever reason, not able-bodied (apologies if that’s not the correct PC phrase).  I, at least, know that I am going to be back to normal in time but I cannot simply comprehend the mental anguish of a soldier, or indeed anyone, who has lost a limb or a faculty that is never coming back.

OK, I have been getting progressively more deaf for years now and manage(?) by spending ludicrous amounts every couple of years on the latest technology in a vain attempt to claw back some of the loss since the last pair.  This has enabled me to maintain a business career and for my own little disability to go largely unnoticed.  This morning the beautiful Denise chauffeured me down to our health centre where I was to have the stitches removed.  Margret, our practice nurse, was kind, solicitous and perfectionist in getting the little critters out almost before I was aware of their going.  However, I did notice something new, just a glimpse mind, that while I was seated and the procedure was carried out, the two ladies in my life at that moment, and for all the right reasons, were robbing me of just a little bit more of my independence than I felt comfortable with.  What would it be like if I had suffered a permanent disability and really did have to rely on others more than I feel comfortable doing?

Typing has never been strength but this post has taken me more time than I care to admit, hunting and pecking with a couple of left-hand fingers.  I now know just how frustrating, truly frustrating, it would be if this was as good as it was going to get.  No guitar practice either.  So, I’m good folks, but spare a thought for those less fortunate than us; not just for their physical impairments but for the mental adjustments they have to cope with.

Looking forward to normal service more than ever….

2 responses to “Walk a mile in my shoes

  1. Hi Tony,
    I’m so glad we ‘met’ today & I know how you feel. I hope your arm is back on form very soon! What I have in incurable but your points are still so valid. These things come to put us in ‘check’ with life.
    Keep going and hugs for your lovely lads Ollie & Del Boy! Leo says hi!
    Cyd x

  2. Thanks for visiting Cyd. The marvelous thing about this blogging is the lovely people one meets. Take care
    Tony x

Leave a Reply

