The Business of Life Chapter 24 – can success come from losing?

I had settled into the pattern of a weekly commuter.  Monday mornings would see Denise dropping me off at Leeds-Bradford airport to catch the first flight down to Heathrow where I would switch terminals to catch the next Swissair flight.  Because of the time difference, I didn’t get into the office much before noon.  On Fridays I managed to flee the office by late afternoon in time to catch the BA flight to Manchester where I had arrangements with a local taxi firm to pick me up.  Frequently, I would be making mid-week trips to one or more of our subsidiaries or meeting with two of my direct reports who were based in our factories in Nuremburg and Tienen (Belgium).  Evenings in Geneva would have me either entertaining visitors or taking dinner on my own in one of the small local restaurants.  Given the uncertainty of the situation, it was my intent to save as much of my Swiss salary as I could.

Highlights were the weekends when Denise came over to Geneva.  We would visit some of the restaurants in the city centre or in the small villages on both sides of the lake.  We travelled around as much as we could at weekends and also managed to take a couple of short breaks walking in the mountains.  We also had a great week when my daughter Victoria also came to visit (marred somewhat by meetings I was required to attend).  Sundays were never a complete success when Denise came to stay as it seemed as if we were simply killing time until the time came to drive her to the airport.  The realisation that we were going to spend yet another week apart would cast a gloom over the day however much we tried to divert our attention with lunch out or trips further afield.  There was always that flight to catch and the growing realisation that the sale of the company would provide little of benefit to me.  I had pretended to myself that it might not happen (maybe no-one would want to buy us) but now the reality kicked in.

The meeting with our prospective buyers was a dispiriting occasion that only served to prove to me that, whilst our own senior management might have had no strategy for long term success, this lot had even less.  The reality was a management buy-in team (MBI) backed by CVC Capital Partners represented by Michael Smith, CVC’s CEO.  Michael Smith came across well enough but said nothing of substance to enlighten us of the plans they had for the business.  The management team comprised Norman Scoular (ex CEO of a small UK conglomerate) and another individual, Eddie Bartlett, who I can only describe (on his subsequent behaviour) as Norman’s enforcer.  Norman, pleasant enough on the surface, also said little of substance except to talk of personal responsibility for personal targets.  In turn, Eddie droned on repeating most of Norman’s utterances as if he believed that the repetition would somehow add weight to the vacuous comments.  The only concrete aspect to emerge was that we were now into the due diligence phase of the sale process.  We were instructed by our new prospective masters to respond to any questions they asked to the fullest extent of our knowledge

There was no mistaking the wealth in Switzerland, with fine houses, exotic cars, expensive shops and starred restaurants everywhere.  The Credit Suisse cash machine situated in the lobby of our building had a disconcerting habit of dispensing nothing smaller than a 200 Swiss Franc note.  This was probably fine if you were pulling out a wad of these in one of the many Michelin starred restaurants in town but was a definite problem if your intended destination was merely the local bar!  However, wealth had its positive side and my Swiss bank balance was growing nicely as a result of my abstemious lifestyle.

Having assembled my evidence on the malign effects of the bonus scheme on stock levels across Europe, I decided to discuss the matter first with Alain (VP HR).  A large Belgian man who took an equal pride in his systems and procedures as he did in attempting to demonstrate the correctness of his views regardless of the subject, he listened with growing impatience.  “Listen,” he finally roared, “I spent a vast amount of time putting our incentive scheme together and I’m not about to change it on the basis of some flimsy information!”  Knowing that little happened on the HR front without Alain’s consent I argued to myself that, without Alain’s agreement, Don was unlikely to listen either.  Instead, I decided on a different tack.  We had a general managers’ meeting due for the next week so I merely told Don that I needed a substantial time slot to impress on the assembled group the importance of accurate sales forecasting.  He agreed and the time was duly allotted for late morning.  I worked on my presentation until I was absolutely confident that the logic and rationality were impeccable.

The day of the meeting dawned fine and sunny but as the meeting room started to fill I discovered that neither Don nor Swaanen were present.  I had a quick word with Germaine who informed me that Don, Swaanen and Dan (VP Finance) had decided to play golf in Evian and wouldn’t be back until lunchtime.  I tried to rearrange the agenda to put my slot back until the afternoon but found that this wasn’t possible.  I therefore either had to withdraw the subject from the agenda or go ahead without Don.  By this stage I had no alternative but to proceed.  It was conceivable that Swaanen had got wind of what I was planning and had decided to encourage Don to take the morning off.  Events would later prove at least my first supposition to be correct.

For this meeting I had decided that the issue of the bonus scheme was not relevant, it being purely a head office decision if a change was to be made.  Instead I was intending to focus on the need of minimising stock levels across Europe and the vital importance of letting the DRP system play its role.  For the presentation I had made slides of the graphs generated by DRP showing the accuracy of the system sales forecasts versus country amended ones and the actual results.  In order not to be confrontational all the information I showed was without any country identification.  Instead I had prepared an envelope for each of the general managers enclosing the results for their country that I handed out at the end.  I made known the saving we could make if everyone could trust the DRP generated forecasts and I asked for their support.  Wishful thinking.

All hell broke loose.  Ignoring the incontrovertible evidence in front of them I was attacked on all sides by men who argued black was white.  I knew that there was a degree of animosity existing between country managers and the factory managers who supplied them but I had simply not expected this outcome.  There was simply no-one in the room who was prepared to even acknowledge that their forecasting could be improved.  By the time Don appeared he wasn’t interested in becoming involved in the subject and quickly moved the meeting on to the next agenda item.  I had failed in two battles but I hadn’t given up.

The following week we had a meeting scheduled in London for Monday and that evening I travelled back to Geneva with Don & Alain.  As we had time to kill we decided to eat at Heathrow and over dinner I raised the stock and bonus subject with Don, going over the full facts.  For some reason Don would not acknowledge that there was anything wrong with either the stock or the bonus systems that couldn’t be put right by my team reviewing every single product line forecast for every country every month.  It was both an illogicality and an impossibility and I told him so.  Don disputed this and we went around the subject again but with voices getting louder with every sentence.  Alain stated that the bonus system had no part to play in the situation.  I reminded them of the investment that had been made in the DRP system and that it was being ignored by everyone.  By this time we were all shouting at each other in the middle of the restaurant.  In the end I said that I could not achieve better than the existing system.  But, if he was serious about making an improvement, he should take the whole logistics function away from Swaanen and give it to me to manage and I would commit to making it work.  We were by now red faced and out of breath but Don brought things to a close by agreeing with my proposal.

The following day I went into the logistics department to request that a further analysis I needed be produced.  Sheepishly and with great embarrassment the team informed me that Swaanen had that morning instructed them to not even speak to me again.  When I got to see Don he also looked embarrassed and said that upon reflection overnight he had changed his mind and I must proceed as he had originally instructed.  I had lost the war.  By connivance and weak management we were wasting $10m a year in working capital and no-one wanted to even look at the root causes.  I couldn’t give up.

By this time it was clear that, unless a last minute disaster occurred, the transaction to sell the business would complete.  Feeling less and less respect for the senior team I gave up the daily ritual of lunch with them and started eating instead with one or other members of my team (something that was far more relaxing).  In a last ditch effort to preserve something of the work I had put into the goal I had been given and the findings I had made, I told Norman that I would appreciate a meeting with him as soon as possible.  The problem was that he seemed always to be travelling.  Meanwhile, Christmas was approaching and I decided to drive back to England with my son Alex.  He had been attending a French language school in Chambery, had come to the end of his course, and needed a lift home.  We enjoyed the time together and it made a pleasant change from air travel.  Christmas passed too quickly and it was soon time to return.

A harsh winter had descended upon Europe after Christmas and by the time I drove back across France the temperature was showing -18C.  I had tried to keep the situation out of my mind over Christmas but as I drove along near deserted autoroutes the situations I faced looked decidedly unattractive.   If the sale by some chance fell through it was clear that my role was going to become increasingly more difficult. I had a brain that wanted to understand the big picture and address the things that influenced it.  The problem was that I had neither the skills nor the inclination to enter into politics.  I had also by now made myself something of a pariah amongst the senior team in Geneva by fighting without fear or favour for what I knew to be right.  On the other hand if, or now more likely when, the sale went through I faced new management that seemed to hold views that were an anathema to me.

Finally, in January I met Norman for dinner one evening.  He wanted to know my views on the business, which suited me just fine.  I gave him an overview that I felt was realistic and showed opportunities.  I took him through an abbreviated version of the stock saga and shared with him the savings that could be made in working capital. However, Norman surprised me with his response that indicated he had little or no interest in the DRP system and that country managers should take responsibility for their own stock levels.  They should be completely responsible for their own results.  We talked on but it became clear that in terms of modern management thinking, Norman was back in the Stone Age.  Newco was not going to possess a culture that would play to my experience, training or skills.  A new threat wormed its way into my consciousness; what if they did want me?  A great concern.  I also had to pick up the bill.

A week or so later we got the news that the transaction had completed and Norman and his team marched into the offices.  Don had disappeared and then Norman promptly got on a plane to somewhere.  Eddie quickly took up his role as enforcer with relish.  As will have become apparent by now my view was that whilst many of the problems in the industry were structural, we certainly hadn’t made the best of the hand we had drawn.  However, that is different from some diminutive clown telling us we had all been complete idiots.  The only thing of note that happened that first week was that business class travel was banned and we all received a long lecture from Eddie on the need to save money and how life was going to change.  I’m not sure what motivational training Eddie had had but he wasn’t a patch on my old headmaster at the art of bollocking.  Life at the back of the plane on Friday evening wasn’t too bad but the signs for the future were.

A few days into the following week Alain called me into his office.  Looking less like his usual bombastic self than I could ever have imagined he fidgeted and launched into the worse version of a HR scripted Dear John speech I had ever heard.  I put my hand up to halt him, “Don’t worry about the niceties, Alain” I smiled, “Just be good enough to tell me if this lot are going to honour my contract?”  It was with relief that he nodded and handed me the paper laying out the terms of my severance, which were exactly as my contract.  Alain went on to tell me that my whole team was to be fired with just one exception   He held out his hand for my office and car keys.

At the age of 47 and after 13 years of constant commitment and effort to the organisation that had given me more highs and lows than I can now recall, I was out of work once more.

Postscript

The North American business of GTE Sylvania was sold to Siemans shortly prior to CVC purchasing the European and Rest of World business.  Europe and ROW was subsequently sold on by CVC some years later and has passed through several ownerships since.  The business is currently owned by an Indian conglomerate and was the subject of an article in the Sunday Times (22 July 12) describing the difficulties they had in changing the company culture.  

My inactivity in the ‘non-job’ referred to above did not in fact stop me from carrying out a very detailed research project to establish the viability of the Linolite brand.  The results I obtained indicated that attempting to extend the brand’s franchise was not a viable proposition; this was ignored and the product range I had developed was rebranded Linolite despite my stiff opposition.  Today the Linolite brand is no longer owned by Sylvania (which has gone on to develop its very successful industrial and commercial lighting fittings identity) and appears to have a very limited market presence.

Greg retired to Florida where I understand he still lives.  Don now works for a small venture capital company owned by a past GTE Sylvania president.  Alain still lives in Geneva where he runs a successful multinational HR consultancy.  Swaanen was persuaded to stay with the business.

Norman died on Swissair flight 111 in a crash over the Atlantic in September 1998.

Image courtesy of  www.Fecielo.com

Leave a Reply

